What if… life seems unfair, chaotic & even evil?

Posted: March 16, 2011 by Haelie in Uncategorized

The waves of death swirled about me;
the torrents of destruction overwhelmed me. – 2 Samuel 22:5

As for God, his way is perfect:
The LORD’s word is flawless;
he shields all who take refuge in him. – 2 Samuel 22:31

Lift up your eyes to the heavens,
look at the earth beneath;
the heavens will vanish like smoke,
the earth will wear out like a garment
and its inhabitants die like flies.
But my salvation will last forever,
my righteousness will never fail. – Isaiah 51:6

I, even I, am he who comforts you. – Isaiah 51:12

Weep with those who weep. – Romans 3:15

Recently we have all been touched by catastrophe of major proportions, whether we are directly affected or witnessing from a distance.  Additionally many events occur in our own daily lives that could equal to the pain and hurt and chaos and confusion that is ushered in on the waves of a tsunami.

Are these difficult, unexpected, devastating times and events proof against God—especially a God who is ultimately loving and good?

I challenge you to go to God with those thoughts and questions and ask Him to show you who He is in the midst of all of this.  Even if you do not believe that He exists, I ask you to consider some things I am about to point you to in light of the recent tragedy as well as the ones that occur on a daily basis whether or not we are aware.

I will not attempt to do here what some others have already done so well.  Instead, I will point you to some valuable, sound words referencing both the most recent catastrophe as well as ones from past times.

Greg Koukl of Stand To Reason posted this on March 15, 2011:  The Problem of Evil is Everyone’s Problem

John Piper of Desiring God posted this on October 17, 2008:  10 Reasons to Ponder Job’s Story

John Piper also posted this on August 18, 1999:  Whence and Why the Earthquake in Turkey?

And finally I lead you to John Piper’s post on March 12, 2011:  A Prayer for Japan

I pray that you and I will join John in his heartfelt prayer for Japan and for our world.

Leave a Reply

