What if… things just aren’t going as planned?

Posted: October 20, 2010 by Haelie in What About..., What If...
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Imagine this…

It’s a Monday (we all know how much we love Mondays).

You wake up with a sore throat.

You go to the car to take your son to school and a tire is flat (and you have to drive several hours out of town in a couple of days for work).

After a conference call meeting for work discussing a huge project with its deadline being tomorrow and many things not being ready for the deadline, you get a phone call from school that your son is sick.

When you get him home, his temperature is very high (103.2 degrees Fahrenheit).

Between work conference call meetings, you drive him to the doctor and back and forth to the pharmacy for medicine.

Unexpected large bills come in the mail, just a few days after your PayPal account has been hacked and hundreds of dollars of money have been stolen from your bank account.

Are you getting a sense that I didn’t make any of this up?

I didn’t.

This has been my week.

So, where is God in all of this?

He is everywhere.  He is my Strength, my Hope, my Guide.  I was never promised a life of ease as a Christian, and neither are you.  Do all of these crazy, unexpected, seemingly unfair things mean that God doesn’t love us or even that He doesn’t exist.

No.  Not at all.  Throughout His Word we can see that His people struggled and we are even told we will struggle as well.  But, as my BSF Teaching Leader said when discussing our Isaiah Bible Study, “People who focus on God see everything else through Him;  those who focus on fear rarely see anything else.”

As Jesus says of His Word and all that He has told us, “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

Sometimes life seems unfair, but remember Jesus.  Remember what He willingly did for us by being brutally beaten and murdered and left to die on a cross so that He could shed His blood once, for all, to pay the price for our sin before we had even committed it.  And for us, this forgiveness and pardon and freedom is offered as a FREE gift.

Now THAT is unfair.

But I am so thankful that God doesn’t choose to be fair, but instead chooses love.

Will you accept that today if you haven’t already?  If you are running from Him, give up the fight.  Come back to Him.

We would be glad to help you with this if you have any questions.  Just go to our Contact Us page and send us an email…or just comment on this post if you would like.

Comments
  1. Thank you for sharing. Over the past year I found myself angry with God because my life wasn’t going as I planned. Yes, I was disappointed, though truly I am blessed. I appreciate the reminder that God doesn’t choose to be fair, but instead chooses love. DEEP BREATH. Yes, Thank God, for His love.

    • Haelie says:

      You are so welcome, Melinda. Thank YOU for sharing with me how much this meant to you. I love how you expressed how even through the disappointment, you are truly blessed. And I needed that DEEP BREATH right now, too! Thanks again…and thanks be to God for His great, undeserved, unfair LOVE!!!

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Andre Reid, Haelie. Haelie said: What if… things just aren't going as planned?: http://t.co/E3Iz09z It's #WhatIf … Wednesday. Come check it out! […]

  3. Laura says:

    Ah, yes. I so needed to read this right now. Thanks Haelie. And, I sure hope your week gets better! I’m right there with you though. When things get tough, we have to rely on Him. After all, He has a plan, right?

    • Haelie says:

      Thanks so much, Laura! Yes, my week has gotten a little better. I am working nights out of town right now, but I am not feeling sick anymore and my son is well and being cared for by my husband and other family back at home.

      Praying for you in your times of struggle as well! Yes, He does have a plan…much higher than ours!

  4. Jerry M. Pierce Jr (aka misterp) says:

    You hit the nail on the head when you say God has His plan, and when we follow that plan even when things go wrong all comes out just fine. And as we remember those who do wrong or have pride in themselves God see those things as we well and will take care of those folks as he did the Assyrian government. The best thing though when we are wronged is to remember to pray for them that have wronged us in hope that they too will see the light and know the truth so the truth can set them free as well.

Leave a Reply

