Why am I here? What’s the point?

Posted: September 22, 2010 by Haelie in What If..., What Next...
Tags: , , , , , ,

Wake up.  Get ready for work or school.  Go there.  Do your thing.  Go home.  Eat supper.  Get ready for bed.  Go to bed.  Get up and do it all again the next day.

Then there’s the weekend.  A little different, but basically a repeat of last weekend.

Add into the mix struggles with money, school, job, family, friends, your own self…what’s the point of all of this?

Will it ever end?  Or at least seem meaningful?

As in “The words of the Teacher, son of David, king in Jerusalem:

“Meaningless! Meaningless!”
says the Teacher.
“Utterly meaningless!
Everything is meaningless.”

What does man gain from all his labor
at which he toils under the sun?

Generations come and generations go,
but the earth remains forever.

The sun rises and the sun sets,
and hurries back to where it rises.

The wind blows to the south
and turns to the north;
round and round it goes,
ever returning on its course.

All streams flow into the sea,
yet the sea is never full.
To the place the streams come from,
there they return again.

All things are wearisome,
more than one can say.
The eye never has enough of seeing,
nor the ear its fill of hearing.

What has been will be again,
what has been done will be done again;
there is nothing new under the sun.

Is there anything of which one can say,
“Look! This is something new”?
It was here already, long ago;
it was here before our time.

There is no remembrance of men of old,
and even those who are yet to come
will not be remembered
by those who follow.”  (Ecclesiastes Chapter 1 – NIV)

Do you feel like that “teacher”?  I have.  I understand very well his ponderings.

Why do I live each day to only get up and do the same thing all over again?  Some barely make it through each one, others seem to “successfully” breeze through their days, but most of us regardless of our situation have found ourselves saying these same things.

Is there more to life than “this”?

Yes, there is.

Life is much more than each of those repetitive things we seemingly do without purpose at times.  We are not here to become successful and make profit.  We are not here to find our inner selves and attain the highest level of inner peace possible within us.  We are not here to get over our low self esteem and achieve a place of having self worth.  Meaningless, meaningless, that is all meaningless…like chasing after the wind.

No, we will never find fulfillment in who we are or what we can do.  Sometimes it may seem like it, but that too is fleeting.

We are on this earth because our Creator loves us and has a specific plan for each of our lives.  He wants to commune with us and share with us glimpses of Who He is and who He plans to make us.  He wants to have us all come home to spend our eternity with Him, though in the mean time, He deliberately has each of us on this planet at this very time for an appointed reason.  And, while we are here, He desires for us to live this present earthly life abundantly by accepting His free gift of eternal life, right here, right now.

We don’t wait until we are no longer on this earth to live abundantly and eternally – it starts here and now…the minute you confess that you believe in Him and what He has done to pay for our sin by sending His Son to die on the cross for us.  The minute you accept that free, but by no means easy, gift He gave us.

I don’t know what His intentions for you are on this earth, but I do know that you and I are here “for such a time as this.” (See the story of Esther for more on that.)

I don’t know specifically why you are here, but I know that He says:

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'” (Jeremiah 29:11)

And He says:

“‘For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,’ declares the LORD.  ‘As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.'”  (Isaiah 55:8-9)

I know that our Creator and Father longs to commune with us so that we can overflow with His love and mercy onto those around us who so need love and mercy that they cannot and are not getting anywhere else.  He wants to use us, even the bad things that have been a part of our lives, to show others how precious and freeing and peaceful His redemption and forgiveness can be in our lives.

Our world is hungry and thirsty for things much deeper and more eternal than food and drink.  Just like all of the things that seem so meaningless in this life cannot satisfy, looking inside ourselves or to other people on this earth will leave us feeling void and pointless.

Only He, our God, through His Son gives us purpose and fulfillment in our lives.

He will lead you.  Confess your need for Him because of your sin and lack of faith in Him and accept His gift right now.

He will guide you from there.  He will show you “the point.”

That’s why you’re here.

Comments
  1. Thanks for sharing. This is PERFECT timimg for me, as I have been struggling lately (forever) with the fear that THIS is it ~ this life I currently lead. And, while I believe, I haven’t been trusting. It is time to trust…to let my faith lead me…

    • Haelie says:

      Amen, Melinda! So glad that this helped you in that struggle. Of course, life is often a daily struggle, but knowing there is a purpose much higher than the day to day is what makes it not only worthwhile but also abundant! Your eternal life begins on this earth, not just when you get to heaven on that glorious day.

      Keep coming back here for the encouragement and help you need while living this life. We don’t have all of the answers, but we will point you to The Answer – God…He does have all of them!

  2. Darren says:

    Hi Haelie, Interesting but something I’m beginning to ask myself is, what will God do with me when or if I’m in his presence? I admit time is different to God, I think we are designed to work, will we work for him? what purpose does he have for me when I go home?, are we used in the battle of good and evil? I appreciate its a hard one to explain and no-one knows but what do you think?

    • Haelie says:

      Darren,

      These are such great questions and honest thoughts. I have had many of these same thoughts myself. Of course, there are so many things we will not know the answers to until we are in heaven with Him one day – whenever that may be.

      As far as my thoughts on your questions, I would say that though we are not saved BY our works nor kept saved by our works (as is described in much of the New Testament including Romans) our faith does cause us to want to do the work of the Lord. We are to be working for the Lord, though not to achieve nor maintain our salvation. We are definitely created to do good works (Ephesians 2:10), and in that way we grow and shine as a light in the dark for others to see Him and be drawn to Him.

      With that in mind, I also believe as I have learned through my study of the Bible that we are created for His glory (see Isaiah 43:7), much like I just described – by living our life in a way that points others to Him and brings glory to Him.

      Additionally we are created to please God – He finds pleasure in us. Throughout the Bible we can see references to pleasing God. One specific thing that pleases God is faith. “And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him. (Hebrews 11:6)”

      One other specific thing that both pleases and brings glory to God is worship (John 4:23-24). I believe that moreso than working for God, when we are in His eternal presence in heaven we will be worshiping Him (Revelation 19:10 & 22:9). Throughout the prophecies of what is in store for the future of believers (and non-believers) in books such as Isaiah, Jeremiah, Revelation and so many others, I see a consistent theme of us worshiping Him. Though it is hard for my human mind to conceptualize this side of heaven, I really do believe that the majority of what we will be doing in His direct presence – if not the ONLY thing – is worshiping Him.

      That is my best human answer for you. I highly suggest, too, that rather than just relying on my potentially fallible words, you go to http://www.BibleGateway.com and do some keyword searches through the Bible for some of these words I have mentioned and see what God’s Spirit leads you to discover about these questions you have. He is the best Teacher! He will show you. Trust His guidance.

      Thanks so much for sharing your intriguing and honest thoughts. I look forward to hearing more from you. Do come back frequently and read, share, ask, whatever you feel led to do. You are always welcome!

      Because of Who He is,
      Haelie

Leave a Reply

